Online Docx-Converter

Microsoft introduced a new file format in Microsoft Office 2007 called the Open Office XML Format or simply known as .docx. This file format is not compatible with the older versions of Microsoft Office (2003, 98, 97), OpenOffice, Lotus 123, or NeoOffice. Microsoft has made compatibility patches that can be installed in the older versions of Microsoft Office, so they will support the .docx format. But what if you are at someone else’s house or using a different computer and the person doesn’t have the patch?

Docx-Convert.com has made a converter for the .docx format with a user-friendly interface. It is very easy to use and it sends it to your email. They also offer a desktop version. It does get rid of some of the formatting and it gets saved in html and not .doc, but over all it does a nice job if you need it on the go.

To do a quick online conversion of your file:

  1. Click the Browse Button Below.
  2. Select your .docx File
  3. Enter your email
  4. Click “Convert It!”
  5. Check your email

Docx-Converter

18 comments so far

  1. Monica on

    Thats quite useful. Thanks. I have been trying to open this file, thanks to you , now i could.

  2. Anon. E. Mouse on

    It doesn’t work!

  3. ehacks on

    Could you be more specific? What doesn’t work?

  4. anton on

    I also found it not working. My experience:

    After converting my file, the link sent to my e-mail is a dead link. I repeated it twice with different email addresses – both gmail though.

    Not Found
    The requested URL /converted/1203362325-484/ was not found on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
    Apache/1.3.37 Server at docx-converter.com Port 80

  5. ehacks on

    Anton, when I use it there is no problem. Most likely the site was experiencing technical difficulties with their server to cause this. I would suggest to write then a quick email letting them know of the problem so it doesn’t happen again.

    You can also download Docx2Rtf(I wrote about it in a previous post) to do the same job offline.

  6. Judith on

    I also had the problem that it doesn’t work. I think maybe it’s because the file is on my hard disk, and the converter can’t access the file through my firewall?

  7. Zahid on

    Always Server Error

    Nothing usefull if not accessable 😉

  8. felix on

    where is the browse button below?

  9. Anonymous on

    This is a bunch of bullshit. I’ve tried 5 different docX converters and none work

  10. David MacKay on

    I got an error message from this site too – the error message said something about file size being too big. The docx file I was trying to convert was tiny, so I suspect there is a problem with their server.

  11. Kira on

    It’s actually docx-converter.com and the site is down. can’t move temp file to convert directory. i used one converter before and it worked nicely. now i can’t find a 2nd option. ugg Microsoft sucks.

  12. Kira on

    go to http://zamzar.com/
    it’s a nice service
    i think it’s the one i used before

    do NOT go to docx2doc.com
    after they receive your file
    they hold it to try to force you to pay

    you are welcome!

  13. John Philp on

    This would be nice if there really were a ‘browse button below’, but there isn’t. Is this a typo or a scam?

  14. Dan on

    I tried 4 different times and never even received an e-mail back???

  15. Xed on

    Same experience as Dan. The email never arrived in my inbox.

  16. vuishl on

    The same. No email in Inbox. No email in Spam.

  17. Siutiapik on

    The site hasn’t worked for me, I’ve tried two hotmail addresses and I didn’t get any email in my inbox or junk mail from the site with a link.

  18. Siutiapik on

    I retract my previous comment, I got an email and it worked. I converted a .docx file into an open office file, but it took long, about an hour and a half.


Leave a Reply

